Research and Development Centre

labor-1-1920

The discovery and development of new drugs that sustainably improve the lives of patients is one of the core tasks of our research. The construction of the new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel creates the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure.

At the heart of our planning is an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment that simplifies communication and cooperation and allows us to react flexibly to changes and future development priorities.

The investment of around CHF 1.2 billion is also a clear commitment to Switzerland as a business location.

The Research and Development Centre in figures

Completion End of 2023 (planned)
Investment volume Around CHF 1.2 billion
Height

Building 4: 18 m, 4 floors

Building 5: 26 m, 6 floors

Building 6: 72 m, 16 floors

Building 7: 114 m, 26 floors

On the 3rd to 6th basement level, there is an underground car park and a spacious bicycle cellar with space for around 900 cars and around 1,400 bicycles.

Workstations Around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations

Our new research and development centre will provide modern office and laboratory workstations.

The laboratory high-rises, Building 6 and Building 7, are each divided into three-storey units to create smaller “research biotopes”, each with around 140 scientists from different disciplines.

Building 5 is an office building and will offer a variety of different work opportunities thanks to a modern office concept.

Building 4 will be used as a Convention Centre. The auditorium on the ground floor will have capacity for around 200 people for lectures, conferences and seminars. In addition, Building 4 will contain two smaller rooms, each with 50 seats, as well as a large number of meeting rooms.

An important building block for successful research is an identity-building environment. By linking all four buildings on the ground floor, a green outdoor area and the open office and laboratory concept, an open and transparent working environment is created that promotes exchange and thus boosts innovation.

Impressions of the Research and Development Centre

  • The new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel will create the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure. The idea is to provide an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment.
    The new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel will create the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure. The idea is to provide an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment.
  • The four buildings of our future research centre, which is due for completion at the end of 2023. View from Grenzacherstrasse.
    The four buildings of our future research centre, which is due for completion at the end of 2023. View from Grenzacherstrasse.
  • The Research and Development Centre will house around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations. Building 6 and Building 7 will contain the laboratories. Laboratory tower blocks are a rarity worldwide.
    The Research and Development Centre will house around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations. Building 6 and Building 7 will contain the laboratories. Laboratory tower blocks are a rarity worldwide.
  • Insight into an open and modular laboratory environment.
    Insight into an open and modular laboratory environment.
  • The auditorium in the Convention Centre (Building 4) will have capacity for around 200 guests.
    The auditorium in the Convention Centre (Building 4) will have capacity for around 200 guests.
  • The “Science Square” connects the buildings of the research centre to the other buildings inside the northern section of our site on Grenzacherstrasse. Its area is comparable to that of Münsterplatz in Basel.
    The “Science Square” connects the buildings of the research centre to the other buildings inside the northern section of our site on Grenzacherstrasse. Its area is comparable to that of Münsterplatz in Basel.

Centre de recherche et de développement

labor-1-1920

La découverte et le développement de nouveaux médicaments qui améliorent durablement la vie des patients sont au cœur de nos activités. Le nouveau centre de R&D qui voit le jour à Bâle représente un développement nécessaire pour disposer d’une infrastructure de recherche moderne.

Nous avons pour ambition de créer un environnement de travail inspirant et propice à l’innovation, qui simplifie la communication et la coopération. Cette nouvelle infrastructure doit nous permettre de réagir avec souplesse aux changements et aux futures priorités fixées en matière de développement.

Cet investissement d’environ 1,2 milliard de francs suisses constitue également un engagement clair en faveur de la place économique suisse.

Le Centre de recherche et développement en chiffres

Achèvement Fin 2023 (prévision)
Investissement Environ 1,2 milliard de francs suisses
Hauteur

Bâtiment 4: 18 m, 4 étages

Bâtiment 5: 26 m, 6 étages

Bâtiment 6: 72 m, 16 étages

Bâtiment 7: 114 m, 26 étages

Du 3e au 6e sous-sol, sont prévus un parking souterrain ainsi qu’un grand garage à vélos pouvant accueillir respectivement environ 900 voitures et 1400 vélos.

Emplois Environ 1800 postes de travail modernes dans les bureaux et les laboratoires

Notre nouveau Centre de recherche et de développement disposera de bureaux et de laboratoires modernes.

Les bâtiments de laboratoires 6 et 7 seront chacun divisés en unités de trois étages afin de créer de petits «biotopes de recherche» rassemblant environ 140 scientifiques de diverses disciplines.

Le bâtiment 5 sera un immeuble de bureaux qui offrira un large éventail de possibilités grâce à un concept moderne.

Le bâtiment 4 sera notre «Centre de congrès». Un auditorium pouvant accueillir quelque 200 personnes pour des conférences, colloques et séminaires est prévu au rez-de-chaussée. S’y ajouteront deux espaces plus petits, de 50 places chacun, ainsi qu’un grand nombre de salles de réunion.

Un environnement de travail contribuant à la formation d’une identité commune est un élément essentiel pour la réussite de la recherche. Les quatre bâtiments partageront au rez-de-chaussée un espace vert et disposeront d’un concept de bureaux et de laboratoires ouverts, ce qui favorisera la perméabilité et la transparence, synonymes d’échanges et de pouvoir d’innovation renforcés.

Impressions Centre de recherche et de développement

  • Avec son nouveau Centre de recherche et de développement, le site de Bâle disposera de l’infrastructure moderne dont il a besoin. L’objectif est de créer un environnement de travail inspirant et propice à l’innovation.
    Avec son nouveau Centre de recherche et de développement, le site de Bâle disposera de l’infrastructure moderne dont il a besoin. L’objectif est de créer un environnement de travail inspirant et propice à l’innovation.
  • Les quatre bâtiments de notre futur Centre de R&D, dont l’achèvement est prévu pour la fin de l’année 2023. Vue de la Grenzacherstrasse.
    Les quatre bâtiments de notre futur Centre de R&D, dont l’achèvement est prévu pour la fin de l’année 2023. Vue de la Grenzacherstrasse.
  • Le Centre de recherche et de développement disposera d’environ 1800 bureaux et laboratoires modernes. Les bâtiments 6 et 7 abriteront les laboratoires – les tours de laboratoires sont une rareté dans le monde.
    Le Centre de recherche et de développement disposera d’environ 1800 bureaux et laboratoires modernes. Les bâtiments 6 et 7 abriteront les laboratoires – les tours de laboratoires sont une rareté dans le monde.
  • Aperçu d’un environnement de laboratoire ouvert et modulaire.
    Aperçu d’un environnement de laboratoire ouvert et modulaire.
  • L’auditorium du Centre des congrès (bâtiment 4) pourra accueillir environ 200 personnes.
    L’auditorium du Centre des congrès (bâtiment 4) pourra accueillir environ 200 personnes.
  • Le «Science Square» est un trait d’union entre les bâtiments du Centre de recherche et de développement et les autres bâtiments situés dans la partie Nord de notre site. Sa superficie sera comparable à celle de la petite Münsterplatz de Bâle.
    Le «Science Square» est un trait d’union entre les bâtiments du Centre de recherche et de développement et les autres bâtiments situés dans la partie Nord de notre site. Sa superficie sera comparable à celle de la petite Münsterplatz de Bâle.