Find out more about us

Basel has been the headquarters of the Roche Group since our company was founded in 1896. Although we are active in more than one hundred countries today, our roots are here in Switzerland. Our founding families still hold the majority of our shares. That gives us stability in an increasingly fast-moving environment.

10,700* employees from over 100 countries come together at our Basel/Kaiseraugst site, helping to shape the future of healthcare and create real added value for patients throughout the world.

We conduct research in neurosciences, ophthalmology, oncology and rare, inflammatory and infectious diseases.

Basel and Kaiseraugst are home to local and global functions as well as the group’s Executive Committee. The global headquarters of the Pharmaceuticals and Diagnostics Divisions are in Basel and a new centre for researching and developing new types of medical solutions will be in place by 2023. Kaiseraugst is one of our most important production and packaging locations. Since 2017, it has accommodated one of our largest IT innovation centres anywhere in the world.

Our founder Fritz Hoffmann was guided by the fundamental idea that entrepreneurship and scientific research can contribute to improvements in people’s health. Today we are the world’s largest biotechnology company, a leading supplier of in vitro diagnostics and a pioneer in personalised medicine. We are still today – and shall always remain – true to our founder’s guiding principle: "doing now what patients need next".

*FTE: full-time equivalent

Juerg_Erismann_06_Juli_2015
Here in Basel and Kaiseraugst, the most diverse people come together in global and local functions to help shape the future of healthcare.
Our goal is to create a modern, flexible and attractive site providing the best possible support for the work we do together and for our common objective.
Jürg Erismann – Basel/Kaiseraugst Site Head

Découvrez-nous

Depuis la création de Roche en 1896, Bâle abrite le siège du groupe. Même si nous sommes aujourd’hui actifs dans plus de 100 pays, nos racines sont ici, en Suisse. Les familles fondatrices restent actionnaires majoritaires du groupe, garantissant ainsi la stabilité dans un environnement qui évolue toujours plus rapidement.

Le site de Bâle/Kaiseraugst accueille 10 700* collaboratrices et collaborateurs provenant de plus de 100 pays pour concevoir ensemble l’avenir dans le domaine de la santé et créer une véritable valeur ajoutée pour les patientes et les patients du monde entier.

Nos activités de recherche portent sur les domaines des neurosciences, de l’ophtalmologie, des maladies rares et infectieuses, mais aussi de l’oncologie et des maladies inflammatoires.

C’est ici que se trouvent la direction du groupe et les fonctions locales et globales. Bâle abrite également le siège mondial des divisions Pharma et Diagnostics. Un nouveau centre de recherche et développement pour des solutions médicales d’avant-garde est prévu à l’horizon 2023. Kaiseraugst est l’un de nos principaux sites de production et de conditionnement. Depuis 2017, nous disposons sur ce site de l’un de nos centres d’innovation informatique les plus importants.

Notre fondateur, Fritz Hoffmann, est parti de l’idée que l’esprit d’entreprise et la recherche scientifique peuvent contribuer à améliorer la santé des hommes. Nous sommes aujourd’hui la plus grande entreprise de biotechnologie au monde, le leader du diagnostic in vitro et un pionnier de la médecine personnalisée. Aujourd’hui comme demain, nous restons fidèles à la devise de notre fondateur: «doing now what patients need next».

* ETP: équivalent temps plein

Juerg_Erismann_06_Juli_2015
A Bâle et Kaiseraugst des collaboratrices et collaborateurs venant d’horizons variés se retrouvent au sein de fonctions globales et locales, en vue de concevoir ensemble les soins de santé de demain.
Nous souhaitons offrir un site moderne, flexible et attractif qui facilite de manière optimale nos travaux et notre objectif commun.
Jürg Erismann – Responsable du site de Bâle/Kaiseraugst