Research and Development Centre

labor-1-1920

The discovery and development of new drugs that sustainably improve the lives of patients is one of the core tasks of our research. The construction of the new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel creates the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure.

At the heart of our planning is an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment that simplifies communication and cooperation and allows us to react flexibly to changes and future development priorities.

The investment of around CHF 1.2 billion is also a clear commitment to Switzerland as a business location.

The Research and Development Centre in figures

Completion End of 2023 (planned)
Investment volume Around CHF 1.2 billion
Height

Building 4: 18 m, 4 floors

Building 5: 26 m, 6 floors

Building 6: 72 m, 16 floors

Building 7: 114 m, 26 floors

On the 3rd to 6th basement level, there is an underground car park and a spacious bicycle cellar with space for around 900 cars and around 1,400 bicycles.

Workstations Around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations

Our new research and development centre will provide modern office and laboratory workstations.

The laboratory high-rises, Building 6 and Building 7, are each divided into three-storey units to create smaller “research biotopes”, each with around 140 scientists from different disciplines.

Building 5 is an office building and will offer a variety of different work opportunities thanks to a modern office concept.

Building 4 will be used as a Convention Centre. The auditorium on the ground floor will have capacity for around 200 people for lectures, conferences and seminars. In addition, Building 4 will contain two smaller rooms, each with 50 seats, as well as a large number of meeting rooms.

An important building block for successful research is an identity-building environment. By linking all four buildings on the ground floor, a green outdoor area and the open office and laboratory concept, an open and transparent working environment is created that promotes exchange and thus boosts innovation.

Impressions of the Research and Development Centre

  • The new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel will create the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure. The idea is to provide an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment.
    The new research centre at the company’s headquarters in Basel will create the necessary state-of-the-art research infrastructure. The idea is to provide an inspiring and innovation-promoting working environment.
  • The four buildings of our future research centre, which is due for completion at the end of 2023. View from Grenzacherstrasse.
    The four buildings of our future research centre, which is due for completion at the end of 2023. View from Grenzacherstrasse.
  • The Research and Development Centre will house around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations. Building 6 and Building 7 will contain the laboratories. Laboratory tower blocks are a rarity worldwide.
    The Research and Development Centre will house around 1,800 modern office and laboratory workstations. Building 6 and Building 7 will contain the laboratories. Laboratory tower blocks are a rarity worldwide.
  • Insight into an open and modular laboratory environment.
    Insight into an open and modular laboratory environment.
  • The auditorium in the Convention Centre (Building 4) will have capacity for around 200 guests.
    The auditorium in the Convention Centre (Building 4) will have capacity for around 200 guests.
  • The “Science Square” connects the buildings of the research centre to the other buildings inside the northern section of our site on Grenzacherstrasse. Its area is comparable to that of Münsterplatz in Basel.
    The “Science Square” connects the buildings of the research centre to the other buildings inside the northern section of our site on Grenzacherstrasse. Its area is comparable to that of Münsterplatz in Basel.

Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum

labor-1-1920

Die Entdeckung und Entwicklung von neuen Medikamenten, die das Leben von Patientinnen und Patienten nachhaltig verbessern, ist eine der Kernaufgaben unserer Forschung. Der Neubau des Forschungszentrums am Firmenhauptsitz in Basel schafft die dafür notwendige moderne Forschungsinfrastruktur.

Im Zentrum der Planung steht ein inspirierendes und innovationsförderndes Arbeitsumfeld, das die Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit vereinfacht und mit dem wir flexibel auf Veränderungen und zukünftige Entwicklungsschwerpunkte reagieren können.

Die Investition von rund CHF 1,2 Milliarden ist zudem ein klares Bekenntnis zum Standort Schweiz.

Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum in Zahlen

Fertigstellung Ende 2023 (geplant)
Investitionsvolumen Rund CHF 1,2 Milliarden
Höhe

Bau 4: 18 m, 4 Etagen

Bau 5: 26 m, 6 Etagen

Bau 6: 72 m, 16 Etagen

Bau 7: 114 m, 26 Etagen

Im 3. bis 6. Untergeschoss befindet sich eine Tiefgarage sowie ein grosszügiger Fahrradkeller mit Platz für rund 900 Autos und rund 1400 Fahrräder.

Arbeitsplätze Rund 1800 moderne Büro- und Laborarbeitsplätze

Mit unserem neuen Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum werden moderne Büro- und Laborarbeitsplätze geschaffen.

Die Laborhochhäuser Bau 6 und Bau 7 sind jeweils in Einheiten von drei Stockwerken unterteilt, um kleinere “Forschungsbiotope” von jeweils rund 140 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zu schaffen.

Bau 5 ist ein Bürogebäude und wird durch ein modernes Bürokonzept eine Vielzahl verschiedener Arbeitsmöglichkeiten bieten.

Bau 4 wird als «Convention Center» genutzt werden. Das Auditorium im Erdgeschoss bietet rund 200 Personen Platz für Vorträge, Konferenzen und Seminare. Zusätzlich beherbergt Bau 4 zwei kleinere Räume mit jeweils 50 Sitzplätzen sowie eine Vielzahl von Sitzungszimmern.

Ein wichtiger Baustein für erfolgreiche Forschung ist eine identitätsstiftende Umgebung. Mit der Verknüpfung aller vier Gebäude im Erdgeschoss, einem grünen Aussenbereich und dem offenen Büro- und Laborkonzept wird eine durchlässige und transparente Arbeitsumgebung geschaffen, die den Austausch fördert und damit die Innovationskraft stärkt.

Impressionen Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum

  • Der Neubau des Forschungszentrums am Firmenhauptsitz in Basel schafft die dafür notwendige moderne Forschungsinfrastruktur. Im Zentrum der Planung steht ein inspirierendes und innovationsförderndes Arbeitsumfeld.
    Der Neubau des Forschungszentrums am Firmenhauptsitz in Basel schafft die dafür notwendige moderne Forschungsinfrastruktur. Im Zentrum der Planung steht ein inspirierendes und innovationsförderndes Arbeitsumfeld.
  • Die vier Gebäude unseres zukünftigen Forschungszentrums, das Ende 2023 fertiggestellt werden soll. Blick von der Grenzacherstrasse aus.
    Die vier Gebäude unseres zukünftigen Forschungszentrums, das Ende 2023 fertiggestellt werden soll. Blick von der Grenzacherstrasse aus.
  • Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum schafft Platz für rund 1’800 moderne Büro- und Laborarbeitsplätze. In Bau 6 und Bau 7 werden die Labors untergebracht sein - Laborhochhäuser sind weltweit eine Seltenheit.
    Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum schafft Platz für rund 1’800 moderne Büro- und Laborarbeitsplätze. In Bau 6 und Bau 7 werden die Labors untergebracht sein - Laborhochhäuser sind weltweit eine Seltenheit.
  • Einblick in eine offene und modular gestaltete Laborumgebung.
    Einblick in eine offene und modular gestaltete Laborumgebung.
  • Das Auditorium im “Convention Center” (Bau 4) schafft Platz für rund 200 Gäste.
    Das Auditorium im “Convention Center” (Bau 4) schafft Platz für rund 200 Gäste.
  • Der “Science Square” verbindet die Gebäude des Forschungszentrums zu den anderen Gebäuden im Innern der Nordseite unseres Areals an der Grenzacherstrasse. Seine Fläche ist vergleichbar mit der, des kleinen Münsterplatzes in Basel.
    Der “Science Square” verbindet die Gebäude des Forschungszentrums zu den anderen Gebäuden im Innern der Nordseite unseres Areals an der Grenzacherstrasse. Seine Fläche ist vergleichbar mit der, des kleinen Münsterplatzes in Basel.