A sustainable site

The principle of sustainability is firmly anchored in the Roche corporate policy. Roche Basel/Kaiseraugst also aligns its activities to promote Roche’s long-term success and has launched various local projects and initiatives to underscore its responsibility towards people, society and the environment.

Promoting culture, education and science

„I was deeply impressed to be able to see the smiles on the faces of these children despite the dire poverty around them. They seemed very content and happy with very little. I have taken a piece of this home in my heart.“
Daniel Indergand – Top Fundraiser Children’s Walk Basel

Promoting the common good is a key aim of our sponsorship commitment. We support employee volunteering and sponsor organisations such as neighbourhood clubs and local charities. The Roche/Kaiseraugst site is also an annual participant in the global Roche Children’s Walk, a sponsorship initiative on behalf of children in need in Malawi (Africa), and doubles the proceeds raised by employees.

The following are just a few prime examples of Roche's commitment to culture, education and science: The Museum Tinguely, a gift to the city of Basel by Roche; the Roche'n'Jazz concerts; and the partnership with the University of Basel and the University Hospital of Basel to help patients benefit faster from basic scientific research.

Embracing environmental responsibility

„We consciously use new, environmentally friendly technologies and processes so that we can invest and produce sustainably. In this way we have substantially reduced the burden on the environment in the past five years.“
Udo M. Bäckert, Head of Technical Services at the Basel site

Roche takes care to protect the environment and increasingly scarce resources in Basel and Kaiseraugst: Thermal air purification, recycling, and substantial investments in renewable technologies, energy efficiency, and the use of green energy are testament to Roche’s environmental stewardship. The natural landscaping of Kaiseraugst is also "green" and creates an attractive work environment as well as a biotope for plant and animal life. The site is a three-time certificate recipient from the foundation "Natur und Wirtschaft" for its grounds in Kaiseraugst.

„If we don’t take care of resources today, we won’t have any in the future. That’s why every Roche employee focuses on saving energy.“
Jean-Louis Bickel, Energy Operations, Roche Basel

Ein nachhaltiger Standort

Das Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit ist fest im unternehmerischen Handeln von Roche verankert. Auch Roche in Basel und Kaiseraugst richtet ihr Handeln am langfristigen Unternehmenserfolg aus. Der Standort hat zudem verschiedene lokale Projekte und Initiativen ins Leben gerufen, mit der er seine Verantwortung den Menschen, der Gesellschaft und der Umwelt gegenüber wahrnimmt.

Förderung von Kultur, Bildung und Wissenschaft

„Es beeindruckte mich sehr, in all dieser Armut die fröhlichen und lachenden Kinder erleben zu dürfen, die mit extrem wenig einen sehr zufriedenen und glücklichen Eindruck hinterlassen haben. Ich habe mir davon ein Stück in meinem Herzen mit nach Hause genommen.“
Daniel Indergand – Top Fundraiser Children’s Walk Basel

Ein wichtiges Ziel dieses Engagements ist die Förderung des Gemeinwohls. So unterstützen wir die ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit von Mitarbeitenden und fördern Organisationen wie Quartiervereine oder lokale gemeinnützige Organisationen. Auch beim weltweiten Sponsorenlauf „Roche Children's Walk“ zu Gunsten hilfsbedürftiger Kinder in Malawi (Afrika) ist der Standort Basel/Kaiseraugst jedes Jahr mit dabei – und verdoppelt die von Mitarbeitenden gesammelten Spenden.

Ausgewählte Zeugnisse der Förderung von Kultur, Bildung und Wissenschaft sind z.B. das der Stadt Basel gestiftete Museum Tinguely und die „Roche'n'Jazz“-Konzerte. Zudem engagiert sich Roche in der Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität und dem Universitätsspital Basel, um neue Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung schneller für Patienten nutzbar zu machen.

Gelebte Verantwortung der Umwelt gegenüber

„Wir setzen bewusst neue, umweltschonende Technologien und Prozesse ein, um nachhaltig zu investieren und zu produzieren. Auf diese Weise haben wir in den vergangenen fünf Jahren die Belastung für die Umwelt deutlich reduziert.“
Udo M. Bäckert, Leiter Technik Standort Basel

Mit der Umwelt und den knapper werdenden Ressourcen geht Roche auch in Basel und Kaiseraugst sorgsam um: Thermische Abluftverbrennung, Recycling, aber auch erhebliche Investitionen in erneuerbare Energietechnologien, Energieeffizienz und die Verwendung von „grüner“ Energie sind Beispiele dafür. „Grün“ ist auch die naturnahe Gestaltung des Areals Kaiseraugst, die sowohl eine attraktive Arbeitsumgebung als auch Lebensraum für Tiere und Pflanzen schafft. Bereits dreimal erhielt der Standort für seine Grünanlagen in Kaiseraugst ein Zertifikat der Stiftung „Natur und Wirtschaft“.

„Wenn wir heute nicht auf die Ressourcen achten, dann werden wir in Zukunft keine mehr haben. Deshalb steht das Energiesparen für jeden Mitarbeitenden bei Roche im Fokus.“
Jean-Louis Bickel, Energiebetriebe Roche Basel