Xofluza

XOFLUZA® (baloxavir marboxil), 20 mg & 40 mg hard capsules
Swissmedic marketing authorisation number: 67426
Swissmedic marketing authorisation date: 19/02/2020

Marketing authorisation studies (3):

1. CAPSTONE 1 (1602T0831)

Indication: influenza

Phase: III

Summary: Randomised, double-blind, multi-centre, placebo- and active-controlled study to assess the efficacy and safety of a single oral dose of Xofluza in comparison with placebo or oseltamivir in otherwise healthy adult and adolescent (aged ≥12 to ≤64, who weighed at least 40 kg) influenza patients.

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co., Ltd (for Japan/Asia), Shionogi Inc. (USA), Shionogi Ltd. (Australia, New Zealand, South Africa)

2. CAPSTONE 2 (1602T0832)

Indication: influenza

Phase: III

Summary: Randomised, double-blind, multi-centre, placebo- and active-controlled study to assess the efficacy and safety of a single oral dose of Xofluza in comparison with placebo or oseltamivir in adults and adolescents (aged ≥12) with influenza and who are at high risk of complications associated with influenza (e.g. asthma or chronic pulmonary disease, endocrine disorders, heart disease, aged ≥65, metabolic disorders, morbid obesity).

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co., Ltd (for Japan/Asia), Shionogi Inc. (USA), Shionogi Ltd. (Australia, New Zealand, South Africa)

3. 1518T0821 (contents in Japanese, summary report in English)

Indication: influenza

Phase: II

Summary: Study to assess the efficacy and safety of a single oral dose of Xofluza in comparison with placebo in otherwise healthy adults (aged ≥20 to ≤64) with influenza.

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co Ltd.


Publication of the results of clinical trials
The information given above and the links to the clinical data fulfil the requirements of Articles 71-73 of the Ordinance on Therapeutic Products (Therapeutic Products Ordinance, TPO) and amend the information published in association with the Swiss marketing authorisation for Xofluza. Articles 71-73 TPO apply to all medicinal products that were submitted as of January 2019 and were granted marketing authorisation by Swissmedic. The published data will help doctors and other healthcare service providers to take well-informed decisions on treatment and allow researchers to more easily build on the research carried out by Roche and its partners, as well as that carried out by other researchers, to ensure continued scientific progress.

Xofluza

XOFLUZA® (Baloxavirum marboxilum), gélules à 20 mg & 40 mg
Numéro d’autorisation de Swissmedic: 67426
Date d’autorisation de Swissmedic: 19.02.2020

Études d’homologation (3):

1. CAPSTONE 1 (1602T0831)

Indication: grippe

Phase: III

Résumé: étude randomisée, en double aveugle, multicentrique, contrôlée contre placebo et contre traitement actif visant à évaluer l’efficacité et la sécurité d’une dose orale unique de Xofluza par rapport au placebo ou à l’oseltamivir chez des adolescents et des adultes (d’un âge compris entre ≥ 12 ans et ≤ 64 ans, pesant au moins 40 kg) atteints de grippe et par ailleurs en bonne santé.

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co., Ltd (pour le Japon/Asie), Shionogi Inc. (États-Unis), Shionogi Ltd. (Australie, Nouvelle-Zélande, Afrique du Sud)

2. CAPSTONE 2 (1602T0832)

Indication: grippe

Phase: III

Résumé: étude randomisée, en double aveugle, multicentrique, contrôlée contre placebo et contre traitement actif visant à évaluer l’efficacité et la sécurité d’une dose orale unique de Xofluza par rapport au placebo ou à l’oseltamivir chez des adultes et des adolescents (≥ 12 ans) atteints de grippe et présentant un risque élevé de complications liées à la grippe (p. ex. asthme ou pneumopathie chronique, troubles endocriniens, cardiopathies, âge ≥ 65 ans, troubles métaboliques, obésité pathologique).

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co., Ltd (pour le Japon/Asie), Shionogi Inc. (États-Unis), Shionogi Ltd. (Australie, Nouvelle-Zélande, Afrique du Sud)

3. 1518T0821 (contenus en japonais, synthèse en anglais)

Indication: grippe

Phase: II

Résumé: étude visant à évaluer l’efficacité et la sécurité d’une dose orale unique de Xofluza par rapport au placebo chez des adultes (d’un âge compris entre ≥ 20 ans et ≤ 64 ans) atteints de grippe et par ailleurs en bonne santé.

Sponsors: Shionogi & Co Ltd.


Publication des résultats d’études cliniques
L’information ci-dessus ainsi que les liens mis à disposition concernant des données cliniques répondent aux exigences des articles 71 à 73 de l’ordonnance sur les médicaments (ordonnance sur les médicaments, OMéd) et complètent les informations publiées en lien avec l’autorisation suisse de Xofluza. Les articles 71 à 73 de l’OMéd concernent tous les produits qui ont été soumis et autorisés par Swissmedic depuis janvier 2019. Les données publiées aident les médecins et les autres prestataires du secteur de la santé à prendre des décisions thérapeutiques éclairées et permettent aux chercheurs de réaliser plus aisément des progrès scientifiques en se basant sur les travaux de recherche de Roche et de ses partenaires ainsi que sur ceux d’autres scientifiques.