About us

teaser_schlieren_370

Roche Innovation Center Zurich is Roche Pharma Research and Early Development’s (pRED) Center of Excellence for Cancer Immunotherapy. One major focus is the development of engineered antibodies that address unmet clinical needs. Roche Innovation Center Zurich is one of Roche’s antibody engineering powerhouses.

Glycart Biotechnology AG was initially established in September 2000 as a spin-off of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich, Switzerland. In the summer of 2005, it was acquired by the Roche Group and integrated in Roche Pharma Research and Early Development (pRED).

The state of the art research complex based in Schlieren, Switzerland, is now an integral part of Roche Pharma Research and Early Development. Roche Innovation Center Zurich is one of seven Roche Pharma Research and Early Development Innovation Centers. It boasts a multinational team of some 185 employees – many of whom are research scientists – with a dynamic, thriving biotech culture. Roche Innovation Center Zurich is headed by Dr Pablo Umaña and comprises of research teams in diverse fields such as tumour immunology, pharmacology, molecular biology, cell and protein engineering, process biochemistry, cell biological assays, and histology. The teams belong to global functions such as Large Molecule Research, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Oncology Discovery and Translational Medicine.

Roche Innovation Center Zurich focuses on product development – from scientific concepts and validation to the corresponding studies. Today the compounds studied and developed are boosting Roche’s significant commitment towards offering improved cancer medicines.

Über uns

teaser_schlieren_370

Das Roche Innovation Center Zurich ist das Kompetenzzentrum für Krebsimmuntherapie von Roche Pharma Research and Early Development (pRED). Einer der Schwerpunkte des Zentrums ist die Entwicklung speziell modifizierter therapeutischer Antikörper, um Fortschritte in Bereichen mit hohem medizinischem Bedarf zu erzielen. Das Roche Innovation Center Zurich ist im Unternehmen eine treibende Kraft beim sogenannten «Antibody Engineering».

Die Glycart Biotechnology AG wurde im September 2000 als Spin-off der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) in Zürich, Schweiz, gegründet. Im Sommer des Jahres 2005 wurde das Unternehmen vollständig durch den Roche-Konzern übernommen und in Roche Pharma Research and Early Development (pRED) eingegliedert.

Der hochmoderne Forschungskomplex mit Sitz in Schlieren in der Schweiz ist heute ein fester Bestandteil von pRED. Das Roche Innovation Center Zurich ist eines der sieben Innovationszentren von pRED. Viele der rund 185 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sind forschende Wissenschaftler; sie prägen die dynamische und erfolgreiche Biotechnologiekultur des Zentrums. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Pablo Umaña arbeiten im Roche Innovation Center Zurich Forschungsteams auf so unterschiedlichen Gebieten wie Tumorimmunologie, Pharmakologie, Molekularbiologie, Zell- und Protein-Engineering, Prozess-Biochemie, zellbiologische Assays sowie Histologie. Die Teams sind Teil von globalen Funktionen wie Large Molecule Research, Pharmaceutical Sciences sowie Oncology Discovery and Translational Medicine.

Im Roche Innovation Center Zurich steht die Entwicklung von Produkten im Mittelpunkt – vom wissenschaftlichen Konzept und dessen Validierung bis hin zu den entsprechenden klinischen Studien. Die hier untersuchten und entwickelten Substanzen sind der beste Beleg für das nachhaltige Engagement von Roche, immer bessere Krebstherapien verfügbar zu machen.